Business programme

Arctic Economic Council Meeting

03 Jun , 17:00–18:15
Pavilion H, conference hall H22 (first floor)

The Arctic Economic Council (AEC) is an independent organization that facilitates Arctic business-to-business activities. AEC works to expedite responsible business and economic development of the Arctic and its communities, as well as to share and advocate for best practices, technological solutions, and standards. AEC was created in September 2014 by the independent association of large corporations from the Arctic Council countries (Russia, Sweden, USA, Canada, Finland, Iceland, Denmark, Norway). It aims to resolve problems that stand in the way of increased economic cooperation in the Arctic. Russian Federation picks up the chairmanship in the AEC from May 2021 to May 2023. During the meeting, the Russian Federation will cover its priorities, as well outline main areas of cooperation for the period of the Russian chairmanship.

Elena Lazko, Partner, Head of Strategy & Operations, KPMG in the CIS

Evgeniy Ambrosov, Deputy Chairman of the Management Board, Director of Marine Operations, Shipping and Logistics, PAO NOVATEK
Heidar Gudjonsson, Chief Executive Officer, Sýn hf. (Vodafone) / Ursus Investments (online)
Kirill Komarov, First Deputy General Director, Director of the Development and International Business Unit, ROSATOM State Atomic Energy Corporation
Aleksandr Sobolev, Director for Strategy and Business Development, MegaFon
Mads Frederiksen, Director, Arctic Economic Council
Alexey Chekunkov, Minister of the Russian Federation for the Development of the Far East and the Arctic

Front row participants
Nikolay Korchunov, Chair of the Senior Arctic Officials, Ambassador-atLarge for Arctic Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation
Grigory Ledkov, Member of the Committee of the Council of the Federation of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation on Federal Structure, Regional Policy, Local Self-Government and Northern Affairs
Aleksey Malyutin, Head of Prospective Development Department of the Exploration and Production Unit, PJSC Gazprom Neft
Alexey Ostapenko, Deputy General Director, Administrative Director, Sovcomflot (online)
Alexey Rakhmanov, Chairman of the Board, Chief Executive Officer, United Shipbuilding Corporation
Vitaly Symonenko, Vice President, Far East and Arctic Development Corporation (online)
Olga Smirnova, Advisor to the Minister of the Russian Federation for the Development of the Far East and the Arctic
German Shirokov, Chair of the St. Petersburg Committee on Arctic Affairs