Business programme

Presentation of the Goals and Programme of the Chairmanship of the Russian Federation in the Arctic Council in 2021–2023

04 Jun , 17:00–18:15
Pavilion G, conference hall G7

On May 20, 2021, the Russian Federation takes over the chairmanship of the Arctic Council. Russia lays down the principle of responsible governance in the interests of sustainable development of the Arctic as the basis of its chairmanship in the Arctic Council. As a country that accounts for almost a third of the Arctic with a population of over 2.5 million, Russia is implementing an integrated, comprehensive development programme in high latitudes. Therefore, during the chairmanship in the Arctic Council in 2021-2023 Russia prioritizes balanced promotion of sustainable development of the region in its social, economic and environmental dimensions. Russia intends to pay primary attention to improving the well-being, health and quality of life of the inhabitants of the Arctic, including indigenous peoples, ensuring progressive social growth, which, first of all, will be based on sustainable economic development of the region. The growing positive potential of the Arctic must be used to ensure prosperity and progress in the interests of the entire population of the Arctic, to promote scientific, educational and cultural exchanges, tourism, and people-to-people contacts. The Russian Chairmanship in the Arctic Council will proceed under the motto: “Responsible Governance for a Sustainable Arctic”.

Ryan Chilcote, TV Host, Special Correspondent, PBS NewsHour

Nuritdin Inamov, Director, Department of International Cooperation, Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment of the Russian Federation
Nikolay Korchunov, Ambassador-at-Large of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation
Alison LeClaire, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada in the Russian Federation
Elena Lysenkova, Head of the Directorate of State Tourist Projects and Safety in Tourism, Federal Agency for Tourism
Vladimir Panov, Special Representative for the Development of the Arctic, State Atomic Energy Corporation ROSATOM; Deputy Chairman, State Commission for the Development of the Arctic
Arni Thor Sigurdsson, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Iceland in the Russian Federation (online)
Vyacheslav Fetisov, First Deputy Chairman of the Committee of the State Duma of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation on Physical Culture, Sport, Tourism and Youth Affairs; Chairman, Central Council, All-Russian Society for Nature Conservation
Antti Helantera, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Finland in the Russian Federation
Alexey Chekunkov, Minister of the Russian Federation for the Development of the Far East and the Arctic

Front row participants
Lars Kullerud, President, University of the Arctic (UArctic) (online)
Malena Mard, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Kingdom of Sweden to the Russian Federation
Dag Halvorsen, Consul General of the Kingdom of Norway in Saint Petersburg