Drug Security Forum

Technological Sovereignty of the EAEU: Successes and Potential of the National Pharma Industry

02 Jun , 12:15–13:45
Drug Security Forum
Panel Session
Pavilion G, conference hall G7

The common rules for circulation of drugs and medical products for members of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU): Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan, came into effect in May 2017. By 2025, a common drug and medical products market will be created in the five EAEU countries; by that time the rules for manufacture and sale of drugs and medical products should be completely standardized. At the same time, the national pharma industries of the EAEU countries are at different stages of development, which affects decisions adopted by the EAEU members on various integration issues. Preparation of the EAEU Action Plan (Programme) for manufacturing medical products has been on its way since 2020. This includes a plan to implement measures for stimulating manufacture of drugs and medical products in the EAEU, among them subsidies and tariff regulations, as well as government procurement support. This plan is aimed at synchronizing activities of the EAEU members on issues of support for their own pharma industries. What is the contribution and potential of Russian manufacturing in the EAEU countries for development of the industry? What successful experience of EAEU members’ protectionist policy can be highlighted as related to measures for support of the national pharma industry in government bidding? Manufacture of what strategically important drugs must be ensured on full-cycle principle in the EAEU? What should be the measures of government support for the national pharma industry (subsidies, reduction of customs duties, or priority access to the government procurement market)?

Konstantin Ivanov, Host and Expert, Doctor TV Channel

Dmitry Galkin, Acting Director of the Department for Development of the Pharmaceutical and Medical Industry, Ministry of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation
Sergey Glagolev, Deputy Minister of Health of the Russian Federation
Aziz Dusmatov, Head of the Department of Science and Education, Agency for the Development of the Pharmaceutical Industry under the Ministry of Health of Uzbekistan (online)
Aleksey Kugach, Head of the Department for Organization of Pharmaceutical Provision, Ministry of Health of the Republic of Belarus (online)
Nikolay Kushnarev, Director of the Industrial Policy Department, Eurasian Economic Commission (online)
Dmitry Morozov, General Director, BIOCAD
Petr Rodionov, General Director, Geropharm LLC
Alexander Semenov, President, Active Component

Front row participants
Marina Durmanova, President, Association for the Support and Development of Pharmaceutical Activities of the Republic of Kazakhstan (online)
Stanislav Naumov, Chairman of the Board, Association of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU)
Vladimir Shipkov, Executive Director, Association of International Pharmaceutical Manufacturers (AIPM)