SPIEF official magazine - SPIEF Review Issue

SPIEF 2019 MAGAZINE

Place of power

Forums are a great opportunity to get acquainted and establish business contacts and a chance for young executives to put their best face forward. In turn, regions that host these events get a boost to their economic development.

On the right track

The country is approaching the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum with a new Spatial Development Strategy, envisaging advancements in high-speed communication lines and the growing capacity of many important railways.

A sea of opportunity

The development of railway infrastructure stimulates an increase in port capacities. Ports have become the factor that could transform global trade routes in the coming decade.

Eugene Kaspersky: “Fighting cybercrime is impossible without international cooperation”

Cybercrime expert and Kaspersky Lab CEO on the most important phenomenon of the Industrial Revolution 4.0, the ‘sovereign internet,’ and transparency centres.

Stop moaning

We talked to three entrepreneurs who are working to build a ‘culture of optimism’ in Russia, each in their own way.

Sergey Mikhailov: “The market is waiting for competition to grow and niche products to develop”

Food security is one of the main components of sustainable development. Cherkizovo Group’s CEO on how this security can be ensured.

Alexander Machkevitch: “Setting new standards for the industry”

Chairman of the Board of Directors of Eurasian Resources Group (ERG) talks about smart mines, digital and entrepreneurial ecosystems, and the elimination of child labour from the metals & mining industry.

China’s economic reserves evoke optimism

Chinese leader Xi Jinping accepted Vladimir Putin’s invitation to attend the Eastern Economic Forum and, in 2019, SPIEF. Boosting ties between Russia and China is particularly important given the size of their economies and their geopolitical influence.

A set of lock picks

SPIEF Magazine presents several examples of the kinds of products that Russian companies are selling in international markets and what ‘lock picks’ they used to find their place in the sun.

Money from trash

Waste reform in Russia: how waste management is changing and who has already learned to make money in this new system.

Space of Trust of the Roscongress Foundation: creating the basis for positive change

Deputy CEO of the Roscongress Foundation, Director for the Socio-Economic Agenda, and Director of the Innosocium Foundation Elena Marinina on working at SPIEF, new projects, and how to help the state and society find solutions to socially significant issues.

Society has business in its sights

Russian businesses are expected to be actively involved in the country’s social and public agenda. Businesses are ready to meet these expectations.

Julie Gerberding: “Health is created not only in hospitals and clinics”

The Executive VP of MSD, acknowledged international expert and professional, shares her vision of the future of healthcare.

School vs life

The Director of the International Gymnasium of Skolkovo Oksana Demianenko on how to get the most out of education.

SPIEF 2018 MAGAZINE

Sergey Gorkov: “Promoting investment in the real economy”

VEB Chairman Sergey Gorkov talks to the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum magazine about Vnesheconombank’s contribution to Russia’s economic development.


“Missile attacks are very bad for business”

Tadashi Maeda, CEO and Executive Managing Director, Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC), exclusively for SPIEF.


Trade war haunts the global economy

As the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum approaches, Chairman of the Board at Banca Intesa and President of the Conoscere Eurasia Association Antonio Fallico talks about areas of Russian–Italian economic cooperation, the spectre of a trade war, and his views on cryptocurrencies.


Kirill Dmitriev: “Investments for accelerated growth”

The St. Petersburg International Economic Forum will be attended by representatives of sovereign wealth funds and institutional investors from many countries. Their joint projects with Russian capital are an integral part of an economy of trust that will be discussed in line with the Forum’s business programme. Kirill Dmitriev, CEO of Russian Direct Investments Fund, tells why it is worth investing in Russia now.


Alexis Rodzianko: “Business is the last constructive relationship between us”

The US–Russia relationship is experiencing a tough period. In this context, the role of business, which is almost the only constructive channel for communication, is especially important, believes Alexis Rodzianko, President and CEO of the American Chamber of Commerce in Russia. Despite the geopolitical games, US companies invest tens of billions of dollars in the Russian economy every year.


“Politics is transformed in the face of the vast frontiers of space”

Marc Allen, President, Boeing International, exclusively for SPIEF.


Valentina Matviyenko: «Without women, the economy would grind to a halt»

Speaker of the Russian Federation Council Valentina Matviyenko talks about the Second Eurasian Women’s Forum being planned, women’s role in business, and gender equality.


“Don’t allow success to trap you into no longer taking risks”

Emmanuel Faber, Chairman of the Board & Chief Executive Officer, Danone, exclusively for SPIEF.

On-the-ground initiatives. How regional leaders plan to develop business

Alexander Drozdenko , Governor of Leningrad Region.
Alexander Brechalov , Head of the Udmurt Republic.
Anatoly Artamonov , Governor of Kaluga Region.
Anton Alikhanov , Governor of Kaliningrad Region.


Business sightseeing

People come to St. Petersburg to enjoy its beautiful architecture, world-famous museums, canals, panoramic views of the Neva and… business meetings. The number of conferences and exhibitions hosted by the city grows with each passing year. And the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum plays a vital role here.


Soft power

How the national Made in Russia brand is influencing state economic development.


A taste of destiny

How a long-time Swiss winemaker created a premium Russian wine.


A new generation of irrepressible entrepreneurs. Four guests from the future Russian economy

While businesses run by older adults have struggled to acquire market share and position, an entrepreneurial generation Y has grown up in the country. Millennials are doing business in Russia because they believe in the opportunities here, but they also think on a global scale.

Kaizen in the garage
First a billion, then the world
The force of attraction
In search of immortality


David Yang: “We will find a common language with robots”

Co-founder and Chairman of the Board of Directors of ABBYY David Yang is one of Russia’s most prominent IT entrepreneurs. He has now focused his attention on studying artificial intelligence and its use in business. On the eve of the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum, Yang talks to us about whether humanity faces the threat of a machine uprising and when the line between people and technical devices will be erased.


“Global economies require less protectionism”

Dr. Klaus Mangold, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, TUI, exclusively for SPIEF.


A doctor for your body

In the next two years, at least two radical rejuvenation technologies developed by British gerontologist Aubrey de Grey are set to enter human clinical trials. Almost 17 years ago, the doctor promised that people would be able to live for a thousand years if they were ‘repaired’ in time. And he intends to fulfil his promise.


Martin Lundstedt: “We can extract higher utilization from each vehicle”

Autonomous cars are already driving on our streets. Various forecasts suggest that by 2025, they will make up 20% of the world’s vehicle fleet, a figure which is certainly to be reckoned with.


Five questions about blockchain technology

The potential of blockchain technology is far greater than the creation of cryptocurrencies. Its introduction will enable economic and technological advances in a range of different fields. And Russia can lead this process.


E-sports are just getting started

The date is 18 March 2018, and we’re in Haikou (China). It’s the final battle of the World Electronic Sports Games. Millions of viewers worldwide watch their favourite e-sports players via live streams. After a fierce three-round Dota 2 match, Team Russia defeated their Brazilian rivals, earning 800000 dollars in prize money. This is Russia’s most resounding victory in recent years, giving the team top spot in the overall rankings.


Boris Grebenshchikov: “It’s time to rebuild what we have”

St. Petersburg is generally considered to be the nation’s cultural capital, and this is largely thanks to such figures as Boris Grebenshchikov. The musician and thinker talks about the relationship between artists and the authorities, the influence of Europe on Russia, and the divine origin.


Social Partnership: Creating a Space for Trust

In Russia and around the world there is now an understanding that sustainable economic development is attainable only in a steadily developing society. Achieving growth without tackling social problems is impossible. In order to create an ecosystem of socially-oriented projects in Russia, we need funding channels, up-to-date regulations, technological innovations, and an effective information environment. The Roscongress Foundation’s social platform was created in order to provide a working environment for this social ecosystem.


Talking about language

At the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum, the Roscongress social platform and the Art, Science and Sport Charity Foundation will present a joint project. The first stage will take place in summer 2018 and conclude at the Eastern Economic Forum in September. The topic: social communication and the mechanisms for making it happen.

Официальный журнал ПМЭФ - Выпуски журнала

ЖУРНАЛ ПМЭФ-2019

Место силы

Форумы – это прекрасная возможность для знакомства и установления деловых контактов, хороший шанс для молодых руководителей проявить себя с лучшей стороны. Регионы, которые принимают мероприятия, получают импульс для экономического развития.

На правильных рельсах

К Петербургскому международному экономическому форуму страна подходит с новой Стратегией пространственного развития, предполагающей прогресс скоростных коммуникаций и увеличение пропускной способности многих важнейших магистралей.

Море возможностей

Развитие железнодорожной инфраструктуры стимулирует увеличение портовых мощностей. Очевидно, что именно порты в ближайшее десятилетие способны поменять архитектуру мировых торговых путей.

Евгений Касперский: «Без международного сотрудничества бороться с киберпреступностью невозможно»

Мировой эксперт по кибербезопасности и генеральный директор «Лаборатории Касперского» – о главном феномене промышленной революции 4.0, «суверенном интернете» и центрах прозрачности.

Хватит ныть

История трех российских предпринимателей, каждый из которых по-своему строит в стране «культуру оптимизма».

Сергей Михайлов: «Рынок ждет рост конкуренции и развитие „нишевых“ продуктов»

Продовольственная безопасность – одна из главных составляющих устойчивого развития. Как ее обеспечить, говорит генеральный директор группы «Черкизово».

Александр Машкевич: «Создаем новые стандарты работы для отрасли»

Председатель совета директоров Eurasian Resources Group (ERG) – об «умных карьерах», экосистемах для населения и борьбе с применением детского труда в горно-металлургической промышленности.

Резервы китайской экономики внушают оптимизм

Лидер КНР Си Цзиньпин принял приглашение Владимира Путина и будет участвовать в работе ПМЭФ. Укрепление отношений между Россией и Китаем особенно важно, учитывая масштабы их экономик и геополитический вес.

Набор отмычек

Журнал ПМЭФ решил на нескольких примерах понять, с какими продуктами российские компании выходят на зарубежные рынки и какие «отмычки» используют, чтобы завоевать место под солнцем.

Деньги из мусора

«Мусорная реформа» в России: как меняется обращение с отходами и кто уже научился на этом зарабатывать.

Пространство доверия Фонда Росконгресс

Елена Маринина, заместитель директора и директор социальных программ Фонда Росконгресс, рассказывает о работе на ПМЭФ, новых проектах и о том, как можно помочь обществу в поиске решений социально значимых вопросов.

Бизнес под прицелом общества

От российского бизнеса ждут активного включения в социально-общественную повестку страны. И бизнес готов оправдать эти ожидания.

Джули Гербердинг: «Здоровье создается не только в больницах и поликлиниках»

Исполнительный вице-президент компании MSD – признанный международный эксперт и профессионал – о том, каким будет здравоохранение в будущем.

Школа vs жизнь

Оксана Демьяненко, директор Международной гимназии Сколково, дает советы, как получить максимум от школьного образования.

ЖУРНАЛ ПМЭФ-2018

Сергей Горьков: «Содействовать притоку инвестиций в реальный сектор»

Об участии Внешэконом­банка в экономическом развитии России журналу Петербургского международного экономического форума рассказывает Председатель ВЭБ Сергей Горьков.


«Ракетные удары – это очень плохо для бизнеса»

Тадаси Маэда, главный исполнительный директор, главный управляющий директор Японского банка для международного сотрудничества (JBIC), специально для ПМЭФ.


Призрак торговой войны

В преддверии Петербургского международного экономического форума Председатель Совета директоров Банка «Интеза», Президент Ассоциации «Познаем Евразию» Антонио Фаллико рассказал о направлениях российско-итальянского экономического сотрудничества, призраке торговой войны и своем отношении к криптовалютам.


Кирилл Дмитриев: «Инвестиции для опережающего развития»

Петербургский международный экономический форум посетят представители суверенных фондов и институциональных инвесторов из многих стран. Их совместные проекты с участием российского капитала являются важной частью той самой экономики доверия, которая будет обсуждаться в ходе деловой программы мероприятия. Генеральный директор Российского фонда прямых инвестиций Кирилл Дмитриев рассказывает о том, почему вкладываться в Россию стоит именно сейчас.


Алексис Родзянко: «Бизнес – это последние конструктивные отношения, сохранившиеся между нами»

Российско-американские отношения переживают не самый простой период. В этих условиях особенно важна роль бизнеса, который оказывается едва ли не единственным конструктивным каналом коммуникации, уверен президент Американской торговой палаты в России Алексис Родзянко. Вопреки геополитической игре американские компании инвестируют в российскую экономику десятки миллиардов долларов.


«Политика отступает перед лицом необъятных просторов космоса»

Марк Аллен, президент Boeing International, специально для ПМЭФ.


Валентина Матвиенко: «Без женщин экономика бы остановилась»

Председатель Совета Федерации Федерального собрания Российской Федерации Валентина Матвиенко – о повестке готовящегося Второго Евразийского женского форума, роли женщины в бизнесе и гендерном равноправии.


«Нельзя стоять на месте и довольствоваться текущим»

Эммануэль Фабер, Председатель Правления и президент Danone, специально для ПМЭФ.

Инициативы на местах. Как главы регионов предлагают развивать бизнес

Александр Дрозденко , губернатор Ленинградской области.
Александр Бречалов , глава Удмуртской Республики.
Анатолий Артамонов , губернатор Калужской области.
Антон Алиханов , губернатор Калининградской области.


Деловая активность

В Санкт-Петербург едут ради прекрасной архитектуры, всемирно известных музеев, каналов, панорамы Невы и… деловых встреч. Количество конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий в городе увеличивается год от года. И важную роль в этом играет проведение Петербургского международного экономического форума.


Мягкая сила

Как национальный бренд «Сделано в России» повлияет на экономическое развитие государства.


Знак судьбы

Как потомственный винодел из Швейцарии создал премиальное российское вино.


Новые неудержимые. Четыре гостя из будущего российской экономики

Пока взрослый бизнес боролся за доли и места на рынках, в стране подросло предпринимательское поколение Y. «Игреки» делают бизнес в России, потому что верят в возможности здесь, но думают и о мировом масштабе.

Кайдзен из гаража
Миллиард, далее везде
Сила притяжения
В поисках бессмертия


Давид Ян: «Мы найдем общий язык с роботами»

Сооснователь, Председатель Совета директоров ABBYY Давид Ян – один из самых заметных российских ИТ-предпринимателей. Сейчас он сфокусировался на изучении искусственного интеллекта и его пользе для бизнеса. В преддверии ПМЭФ Ян рассказал, грозит ли человечеству восстание машин и когда будет стерта грань между людьми и техническими устройствами.


«Экономике нужно меньше протекционизма»

Клаус Мангольд, Председатель наблюдательного совета TUI, специально для ПМЭФ.


Доктор твоего тела

В ближайшие два года на стадию клинических испытаний на людях должны выйти минимум две технологии радикального омоложения, которые разработал британский геронтолог Обри ди Грей. Доктор пообещал, что люди смогут жить тысячу лет, и он намерен выполнить обещание.


Мартин Лундстедт: «Мы можем добиться роста эффективности каждого транспортного средства»

Беспилотные автомобили уже колесят по дорогам. По разным прогнозам в 2025 году они будут составлять до 20% мирового автопарка – это доля, с которой надо считаться.


Пять мыслей о блокчейне

Возможности технологии блокчейн гораздо шире, чем создание криптовалют. Ее внедрение позволит обеспечить экономический и технологический рывок в совершенно разных областях. И Россия может возглавить этот процесс. Так считает Владислав Мартынов, предприниматель, инвестор, глава центра компетенций Ethereum.


Киберспорт. Все только начинается

18 марта 2018 года, город Хайкоу (Китай). Финальная схватка чемпионата World Electronic Sports Games. За командами киберспортсменов наблюдают миллионы зрителей по всему миру в прямом эфире с помощью стрим-каналов. В результате ожесточенного трехраундового поединка в Dota 2 российская Team Russia одолела соперников из Бразилии, заработав 800 тыс. долл. призовых. Эта самая громкая победа последних лет принесла сборной России первое место в общем зачете.


Борис Гребенщиков: «Пора восстанавливать то, что у нас есть»

Петербург принято считать культурной столицей. Во многом благодаря таким людям, как Борис Гребенщиков. Музыкант и мыслитель рассказал об отношениях художника и власти, влиянии Европы на Россию и божественном начале.


Социальная платформа. Создавая пространство доверия

Сегодня в России и во всем мире сложилось понимание: устойчивое экономическое развитие возможно только в устойчиво развивающемся обществе, поэтому рост невозможен без решения социальных задач. Для создания экосистемы социально ориентированных проектов в России нужны и каналы финансирования, и новейшее регулирование, и технологические инновации, и информационная среда. Социальная платформа Фонда «Росконгресс» создана для того, чтобы стать рабочей средой для этой социальной экосистемы.


Разговор о языке

На Петербургском международном экономическом форуме социальная платформа «Росконгресса» совместно с благотворительным Фондом Алишера Усманова «Искусство, наука и спорт» представит проект, первый этап которого пройдет летом 2018 года и завершится на Восточном экономическом форуме в сентябре. Он посвящен социальной коммуникации и ее механике.